Beethoven Duo Russian impressions of the 20th century


gmp-musitecture-concert with the Beethoven Duo: Alina Kabanova (piano) and Fyodor Elesin (cello)

Concert: Russian impressions of the 20th century, Venue: Völckersstrasse 14–20, Hamburg, Time: 7.30pm, 24th Feb. 2011

Russian impressions of the 20th century
Alina Kabanova piano
Fjodor Elesin cello
Völckersstraße 14-20, Hamburg
Time 7.30pm, 24th Feb. 2011

Date of the next Musitecture:
31st March 2011, chansons by Marie Biermann

More gmp musitecture-concerts

The Beethoven Duo – two soloists who joined forces and are now in the top league as chamber musicians – hit the headlines at their debut at the CARNEGIE HALL in New York in April 2008, where press and public alike talked of the "glamour couple" of classical music. Anyone who was there or at any other 1,000-volt concert by them will agree with Marcello Abbado that "the Beethoven Duo create an atmosphere of magic." Maestro Abbado considers the duo as one of the best he has ever heard.

The Duo’s young stars, who have been a joint act since 2006, come from Ukraine and Russia, but it is the music that matters to them. The voltage is such, you can hear it crackle when they’re playing! The instinctive musical and even emotional sympathy between the two of them achieves an intense and yet totally natural fusion of cello and piano. The artistic expressiveness and unique charisma of the two young musicians come across in every concert, The audience registers their special quality even as the first notes ring out, and expresses its appreciation with a standing ovation at virtually every concert.


The huge success of the Beethoven Duo is a credit to a first-class soloist training under V. Weichert, W. Mehlhorn, V. Gornostaeva, M. Rostropovich, A. Ponomarenko, E. Korolev, M. Abbado and L. Brumberg and subsequent chamber music training under Ralf Gothoni, Bruno Canino and Menahem Pressler at the Instituto Internacional de Música de Cámara de Madrid.










Sergei Rachmaninow 1873 – 1943
Cellosonate g-Moll, Op. 19
1. Lento – Allegro moderato
2. Allegro scherzando
3. Andante
4. Allegro mosso

Sergei Prokofjew 1891 – 1953
Cellosonate C-Dur, Op. 119
1. Andante grave
2. Moderato
3. Allegro ma non troppo


Pjotr Tschaikowski 1840– 1893
aus den „Jahreszeiten“
1. März: Lied der Lerche
2. April: Schneeglöckchen
3. August: die Ernte
4. September: Jagdlied

Dmitri Schostakowitsch 1906 – 1975
Cellosonate d-Moll, Op. 40
1. Allegro non troppo
2. Allegro
3. Largo
4. Allegro

gmp Musitektur # 82  >
< Nachnutzungskonzept